‘Celebrity Wheel of Fortune’ Declares Pat Sajak and Vanna White Straight Up ‘Icons’ in New Set Pic

by Leanne Stahulak

“Celebrity Wheel of Fortune” is back, along with everyone’s favorite game show hosts, Pat Sajak and Vanna White. Season 1 of the hit special will return on Sept. 26 at 8/7 CT on ABC.

To promote the event, the game show’s official Instagram page posted a stunning photo of Sajak and White on the “Celebrity Wheel of Fortune” set. The two hosts grin and hold their arms wide over the wheel in one pic, while they stand by the puzzle board in the other. The caption for the post calls them the “icons” of “Celebrity Wheel of Fortune.”

White and Sajak are also icons of the original “Wheel of Fortune” show. The dynamic duo has led the game ever since 1983, clocking in almost as many episodes as the late “Jeopardy!” host Alex Trebek.

How Does “Celebrity Wheel of Fortune” Work?

“Celebrity Wheel of Fortune” first premiered on January 7, 2021. The premise for the show is similar to the original series, except the contestants who participate donate their winnings to a charity of their choice instead of keeping the cash. They can also win up to one million dollars.

What made this special such a big deal is the fact that this is the “Wheel’s” first time in a primetime spot. Pat Sajak sat down with Entertainment Weekly leading up to the show’s debut in January to talk about what that means.

“As far as the game, it’s going to be the same,” Sajak said. “We’ve jazzed up the set a bit, made it look a little more prime-timey, whatever that means.”

He added that the atmosphere will be a bit different as well. “We’re mainly there to have fun. It’ll be a little lighter in attitude.”

Bringing that light-heartedness was important to the “Celebrity Wheel of Fortune” hosts as it aired during the pandemic.

“This seemed like the time to do it because of what’s going on in the world,” Sajak said. “‘Wheel of Fortune’ is kind of a sign of normalcy for people; they were very glad to have us back on the air. So this seemed like a good time to expand into prime time a little bit, at least one time, and extend that normalcy.”

Former contestants include  Leslie Jones, Tony Hawk, Drew Carey, Jennie Garth, Chandra Wilson, Teri Hatcher, and Chrissy Metz. So far, the show hasn’t revealed who will be participating in the upcoming episodes.

If you can’t watch the special on ABC’s cable channel, you can also find it on Hulu. Individual episodes are also available to buy or rent through different streaming services.