‘Jeopardy!’: Rerun of the ‘Tournament of Champions’ Begins Today

by Leanne Stahulak

Looking to get a “Jeopardy!” fix? Now’s your chance, Outsiders. The game show will return with reruns of the 2021 Tournament of Champions tonight.

The Tournament of Champions takes the Top 15 contestants from the last few years of matchups and pits them against each other in an all-out “Jeopardy!” game. The winners from each of the five quarterfinal games move on to the semifinals. The top four non-winners with the highest winnings also move on to the semis as wildcards. The remaining nine contestants compete for one of three spots in the final round.

Tonight, we’ll see a rerun of the first quarterfinal match from this past spring. “Jeopardy!” Hall-of-Famer Jason Zuffranieri will face off against Ryan Bilger and Sarah Jett Rayburn. On Tuesday, we’ll see Karen Farrell, Nibir Sarma, and Steve Moulds compete. Wednesday’s competitors are Jennifer Quail, Paul Trifiletti, and Ryan Hemmel. On Thursday, Mackenzie Jones, Kevin Walsh, and Ben Henri battle it out. And finally, Friday’s showdown includes Sam Kavanaugh, Andy Wood, and Veronica Vichit-Vadakan.

“Jeopardy!” announced the reruns with a Tweet showing the schedule and contestants. “#JeopardyReruns: It’s #TournamentOfChampions time! Who’s watching today?! You are!” the game show captioned the post.

Former Tournament-of-Champions winner Buzzy Cohen guest-hosted the tournament earlier this spring. He quote tweeted the game show’s message about the reruns earlier today.

“Tune in starting tonight for the rerun of a fabulous #TournamentOfChampions – I am a little biased…” Cohen wrote. He competed in the 2017 tournament and beat all the other competitors. Later, “Jeopardy!” icon James Holzhauer took the crown in 2019.

So far, the game show hasn’t revealed when or if they’ll be airing the semifinals or final matchups. But we can assume they’ll run next week, with the three semi-final games followed by the one championship round.

Who Will Compete In The Next Tournament Of Champions?

“Jeopardy!” keeps a Tournament of Champions Tracker on their website. That way, fans can see which contestants meet the requirements for eligibility in the tournament.

So far this year, only five contestants qualify for the tournament. Current champion Matt Amodio stands far above the rest, with an impressive 18-game win streak and a total of $574,801. He’s still taping shows for the newest season, though we’re not sure how far he’ll go.

Following him is 7-day champ Brian Chang, who earned $163,904 during his time on the show. Fellow 7-day champ Courtney Shah earned $118,558 on “Jeopardy!” this past summer. Six-day champ Zach Newkirk earned $124,871, and 4-day champ John Focht earned $103,800.

We’ll have to see who else “Jeopardy!” invites back for the Tournament of Champions, especially if Amodio stays on his winning streak. Contestants have to win at least 4-5 games to even make it on the tracker, let alone be invited to compete.

The next season of “Jeopardy!” was scheduled to come out on Sept. 13, but that might be pushed back as the game show continues looking for guest hosts and a permanent host.