‘Jeopardy!’ Tournament of Champions Guest-Host Buzzy Cohen Reacts to New Slate of Hosts

by Keeli Parkey

A new slate of guest hosts has been announced for “Jeopardy!” And, one of the individuals who will host the show in the very near future is very happy about the news.

That guest host is Buzzy Cohen and he shared a brief message about the new guest host announcement via Twitter on Wednesday (April 21).

“Exciting news!” Cohen commented as he retweeted information shared by the show earlier in the day.

That information included a list made up of five individuals who will join him on the shortlist of those who will stand behind the podium that was left vacant by the death of the popular game show’s legendary host Alex Trebek. These individuals will help the show bring its 37th season on the air to a close.

According to the tweet, the recently announced five future guest hosts of “Jeopardy!” are Robin Roberts, George Stephanopoulos, David Faber, Joe Buck, and Levar Burton.

These five individuals will join a list of other guest hosts. According to the “Jeopardy!” website previous guest hosts include Ken Jennings, Mike Richards, Katie Couric, Dr. Mehmet Oz, and Aaron Rodgers.

Journalist Anderson Cooper is currently hosting the show. His tenure will run through April 30. Following Cooper behind the “Jeopardy!” podium will be another journalist – Bill Whitaker. He will host from May 3 until May 14.

Buzzy Cohen’s time as guest host of the famous quiz show will take place from May 17 until May 28. He will host a Tournament of Champions event. As a former “Jeopardy!” champion himself, Cohen will be familiar with the show and how it works. This 2021 Tournament of Champions will include 15 of the show’s previous winners.

Guest Hosts Will Continue Leading ‘Jeopardy!’ After May’s Tournament of Champions

After the Tournament of Champions, ‘Jeopardy!” will return to its usual format with other guest hosts leading the way. Actress Mayim Bialik – who is also a neuroscientist – will host the show from May 31 until June 11.

Following Bialik will be TODAY co-anchor Savannah Guthrie and CNN’s Dr. Sanjay Gupta. After Dr. Gupta, the hosts who were just announced this week will take over. The first of those will be George Stephanopoulos. He is a co-anchor of Good Morning America. His episodes of “Jeopardy!” will air from July 12 until July 16. Roberts, Burton, Faber, and Buck will then follow.

Fans React to News About New Guest Hosts

Many fans of ‘Jeopardy!” were very happy to learn that the show had announced the names of those who will be serving as guest hosts during the remaining episodes of its 37th season. They shared their feelings on Twitter this week. Many of those tweets expressed excitement, especially about Levar Burton.

“Saving the best for last. Congrats @levarburton! Looking (forward) to your run,” one fan said.

“Please listen to the fans. We want @levarburton behind the podium for good. That’s the only way I’m going out of my way to watch every single night. Go with a host that has touched so many of our lives in regards to education and learning,” another shared.

“Thank you for having LeVar Burton guest host! You’ll be so impressed that I’m sure you’ll make him a permanent host,” still another posted.