HomeEntertainmentMusic2022 Grammy Awards: Chris Stapleton, Sturgill Simpson, Mickey Guyton, Carrie Underwood & More Earn Multiple Nominations

2022 Grammy Awards: Chris Stapleton, Sturgill Simpson, Mickey Guyton, Carrie Underwood & More Earn Multiple Nominations

by Jim Casey
(Photo by Jason Kempin/Getty Images)

Nominations for the 64th Grammy Awards were announced today on November 23.

A number of stars from the worlds of country, bluegrass, and Americana received multiple nominations, including Chris Stapleton, Sturgill Simpson, Miranda Lambert, Mickey Guyton, Carrie Underwood, Kacey Musgraves, and more.

Sturgill Simpson scored nominations for both Best Country Album (The Ballad of Dood & Juanita) and Best Bluegrass Album (Cuttin’ Grass – Vol. 1). Chris Stapleton copped nominations for Best Country Solo Performance (“You Should Probably Leave”), Best Country Song (“Cold”), and Best Country Album (Starting Over). Mickey Guyton also earned nominations for Best Country Solo Performance (“Remember Her Name”), Best Country Song (“Remember Her Name”), and Best Country Album (Remember Her Name).

Carrie Underwood netted nominations for Best Country Duo/Group Performance (“If I Didn’t Love You” with Jason Aldean). She also received a nomination for Best Roots Gospel Album (My Savior). Miranda Lambert scored nominations for Best Country Album (The Marfa Tapes) and Best Country Group/Duo Performance (“Drunk And I Don’t Want to Go Home”) with Elle King.

Jimmie Allen picked up a nomination in the all-genre Best New Artist category, while Brandi Carlile earned all-genre nominations for Record of the Year and Song of the Year (“Right on Time”).

The 2022 Grammy Awards will take place on January 31 in Los Angeles.

Check out some of the major nominations below from country, bluegrass, Americana and gospel.

Country Music Nominations

Best Country Solo Performance

  • “Forever After All,” Luke Combs
  • “Remember Her Name,” Mickey Guyton
  • “All I Do Is Drive,” Jason Isbell
  • “Camera Roll,” Kacey Musgraves
  • “You Should Probably Leave,” Chris Stapleton

Best Country Duo/Group Performance

  • “If I Didn’t Love You,” Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood
  • “Younger Me,” Brothers Osborne
  • “Glad You Exist,” Dan + Shay
  • “Chasing After You,” Ryan Hurd and Maren Morris
  • “Drunk (And I Don’t Wanna Go Home),” Elle King and Miranda Lambert

Best Country Song

  • “Better Than We Found It,” Jessie Jo Dillon, Maren Morris, Jimmy Robbins and Laura Veltz, songwriters (Maren Morris)
  • “Camera Roll,” Ian Fitchuk, Kacey Musgraves and Daniel Tashian, songwriters (Kacey Musgraves)
  • “Cold,” Dave Cobb, J.T. Cure, Derek Mixon and Chris Stapleton, songwriters (Chris Stapleton)
  • “Country Again,” Zach Crowell, Ashley Gorley and Thomas Rhett, songwriters (Thomas Rhett)
  • “Fancy Like,” Cameron Bartolini, Walker Hayes, Josh Jenkins and Shane Stevens, songwriters (Walker Hayes)
  • “Remember Her Name,” Mickey Guyton, Blake Hubbard, Jarrod Ingram and Parker Welling, songwriters (Mickey Guyton)

Best Country Album

  • Skeletons, Brothers Osborne
  • Remember Her Name, Mickey Guyton
  • The Marfa Tapes, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall and Jack Ingram
  • The Ballad of Dood & Juanita, Sturgill Simpson
  • Starting Over, Chris Stapleton

Americana & Bluegrass Nominations

Best American Roots Performance

  • “Cry,” Jon Batiste
  • “Love and Regret,” Billy Strings
  • “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free,” The Blind Boys of Alabama and Béla Fleck
  • “Same Devil,” Brandy Clark featuring Brandi Carlile
  • “Nightflyer,” Allison Russell

Best American Roots Song

  • “Avalon,” Rhiannon Giddens, Justin Robinson and Francesco Turrisi, songwriters (Rhiannon Giddens with Francesco Turrisi)
  • “Call Me a Fool,” Valerie June, songwriter (Valerie June featuring Carla Thomas)
  • “Cry,” Jon Batiste and Steve McEwan, songwriters (Jon Batiste)
  • “Diamond Studded Shoes,” Dan Auerbach, Natalie Hemby, Aaron Lee Tasjan and Yola, songwriters (Yola)
  • “Nightflyer,” Jeremy Lindsay and Allison Russell, songwriters (Allison Russell)

Best Americana Album

  • Downhill From Everywhere, Jackson Browne
  • Leftover Feelings, John Hiatt with the Jerry Douglas Band
  • Native Sons, Los Lobos
  • Outside Child, Allison Russell
  • Stand For Myself, Yola

Best Bluegrass Album

  • Renewal, Billy Strings
  • My Bluegrass Heart, Béla Fleck
  • A Tribute To Bill Monroe, The Infamous Stringdusters
  • Cuttin’ Grass – Vol. 1 (Butcher Shoppe Sessions), Sturgill Simpson
  • Music Is What I See, Rhonda Vincent

Gospel & Folk Nominations

Best Roots Gospel Album

  • Alone With My Faith, Harry Connick, Jr.
  • That’s Gospel, Brother, Gaither Vocal Band
  • Keeping On, Ernie Haase and Signature Sound
  • Songs For the Times, The Isaacs
  • My Savior, Carrie Underwood

Best Folk Album

  • One Night Lonely [Live], Mary Chapin Carpenter
  • Long Violent History, Tyler Childers
  • Wednesday (Extended Edition), Madison Cunningham
  • They’re Calling Me Home, Rhiannon Giddens with Francesco Turrisi
  • Blue Heron Suite, Sarah Jarosz


Record of the Year

  • “I Still Have Faith in You,” Abba
  • “Freedom,” Jon Batiste
  • “I Get a Kick Out of You,” Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga
  • “Peaches,” Justin Bieber featuring Daniel Caesar & Giveon
  • “Right on Time,” Brandi Carlile
  • “Kiss Me More,” Doja Cat Featuring SZA
  • “Happier Than Ever,” Billie Eilish
  • “Montero (Call Me By Your Name),” Lil Nas X
  • “Drivers License,” Olivia Rodrigo
  • “Leave the Door Open,” Silk Sonic

Song of the Year

  • “Bad Habits,” Fred Gibson, Johnny Mcdaid and Ed Sheeran, Songwriters (Ed Sheeran)
  • “A Beautiful Noise,” Ruby Amanfu, Brandi Carlile, Brandy Clark, Alicia Keys, Hillary Lindsey, Lori Mckenna, Linda Perry and Hailey Whitters, Songwriters (Alicia Keys & Brandi Carlile)
  • “Drivers License,” Daniel Nigro and Olivia Rodrigo, Songwriters (Olivia Rodrigo)
  • “Fight for You,” Dernst Emile Ii, H.E.R. and Tiara Thomas, Songwriters (H.E.R.)
  • “Happier Than Ever,” Billie Eilish O’connell and Finneas O’connell, Songwriters (Billie Eilish)
  • “Kiss Me More,” Rogét Chahayed, Amala Zandile Dlamini, Lukasz Gottwald, Carter Lang, Gerard A. Powell Ii, Solána Rowe and David Sprecher, Songwriters (Doja Cat Featuring Sza)
  • “Leave the Door Open,” Brandon Anderson, Christopher Brody Brown, Dernst Emile Ii and Bruno Mars, Songwriters (Silk Sonic)
  • “Montero (Call Me By Your Name),” Denzel Baptiste, David Biral, Omer Fedi, Montero Hill and Roy Lenzo, Songwriters (Lil Nas X)
  • “Peaches,” Louis Bell, Justin Bieber, Giveon Dezmann Evans, Bernard Harvey, Felisha “Fury” King, Matthew Sean Leon, Luis Manuel Martinez Jr., Aaron Simmonds, Ashton Simmonds, Andrew Wotman Aand Keavan Yazdani, Songwriters (Justin Bieber Featuring Daniel Caesar and Giveon)
  • “Right on Time,” Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth, Songwriters (Brandi Carlile)

Best New Artist

  • Arooj Aftab
  • Jimmie Allen
  • Baby Keem
  • Finneas
  • Glass Animals
  • Japanese Breakfast
  • The Kid Laroi
  • Arlo Parks
  • Olivia Rodrigo
  • Saweetie