ACM Awards 2021: Carly Pearce, Lee Brice Take Home Single of the Year Honor

by Jacklyn Krol

The ACM Awards 2021 Single of the Year goes to Carly Pearce and Lee Brice, for “I Hope You’re Happy Now,” their hit duet.

The pair were especially gracious to take the win, as it is the first time Carly Pearce has won one of the show’s awards. She was previously nominated for the “New Female Vocalist of the Year” in 2018 and 2019, but took no victories.

However, her and Lee Brice were able to get the job done, and then some at the 2021 ACM Awards. Not only did the song win “Single of the Year,” it also took home “Music Event of the Year.”

Other ACM Awards ‘Single of the Year’ Nominees Beside Carly Pearce

Miranda Lambert‘s “Bluebird” was up for the honor. Lambert is the most-nominated female artist in history. This year, she was also nominated for Video of the Year and Song of the Year for “Bluebird.” Additionally, she is up for Female Artist of the Year. Overall, she has nine wins in the category and fifteen nominations, a record. Lambert opened the show with Elle King to perform their single “Drunk (And I Don’t Wanna Go Home).” Additionally, she performed “In His Arms” with Jon Randall and Jack Ingram.

“I Hope” by Gabby Barrett was recognized in this category. Barrett won the New Female Artist of the Year category prior to the telecast.

“I Hope You’re Happy Now” by Carly Pearce and Lee Brice ended up being the winner. The song was also recognized in the Music Event of the Year category. Meanwhile, Pearce was up for Female Artist of the Year. The duo gave their first televised performance of the song during the telecast.

Ingrid Andress’ “More Hearts Than Mine” was up for the award. Andress was up for New Female Artist of the Year but lost to Gabby Barrett.

‘The Bones” by Maren Morris was nominated in this category. Morris was also nominated for Female Artist of the Year and Group of the Year for her part in The Highwomen. She was also up for Song of the Year for “The Bones”. Additionally, “Better Than We Found It” was up for Video of the Year but lost to Kane Brown’s “Worldwide Beautiful”. Ryan Hurd and Morris gave their debut performance of their duet, “Chasing After You” during the telecast.