Chris Young to Release 8th Studio Album ‘Famous Friends’ on August 6

by Jim Casey

Chris Young revealed he will release his eighth studio album, Famous Friends, on Aug. 6. The 14-song offering will mark his first new album in almost four years. Chris dropped his seventh studio album, Losing Sleep, in October 2017.

The Tennessee native has already released a handful of songs from the new project, including “Raised on Country,” “Drowning,” and his current Top 5 single, “Famous Friends,” which features vocals from Kane Brown. The tandem of Chris and Kane took home the CMT Award for Collaborative Video of the Year on June 9 for “Famous Friends.”

In addition to Kane, the upcoming album includes “friends” Lauren Alaina and Mitchell Tenpenny. Lauren teamed with Chris on “Town Ain’t Big Enough,” while Mitchell joined Chris on “At the End of a Bar.” The new album also features songs with background vocals from Dan + Shay’s Shay Mooney, Sarah Buxton, and Hillary Lindsey.

“I know I’ve said it before, but I honestly can’t say it enough—I am so excited to be releasing my new album,” shared Chris Young in a press release. “There are so many incredibly talented artists, songwriters, and producers. All friends of mine, who helped make this album possible. Having friends share their talents as collaborators, songwriters, producers and more, it’s only natural to call the album Famous Friends.”

Write, Sing, Produce

Like his three previous albums, Chris stepped into the role of producer for Famous Friends. Chris co-produced 13 of the tracks with Corey Crowder, Chris DeStefano, and Mark Holman, while solely producing the album’s final track, “Tonight We’re Dancing.”

“I want people to fall in love with it, blow their speakers listening to it, dance to it, party along with it, cry to it, just live it,” added Chris. “And I can’t wait to start playing this new music on the road soon.”

In addition, Chris co-penned 13 of the 14 tracks with a host of Nashville’s top songwriters, including Ashley Gorley, Chris DeStefano, Rhett Akins, Hillary Lindsey, Josh Hoge, and more.

To coincide with today’s announcement, Chris released a new song “Rescue Me” on June 11. Chris penned the new track with Josh Hoge, Mark Holman, Matthew McGinn, and Christian Davis Stalnecker.

“I think ‘Rescue Me’ is such a cool twist on the typical love song concept,” said Chris. “People were already falling in love with it just based off short social teases. It’s something special. And I’m proud to have helped write it and produce it alongside Mark Holman.”

Chris Young – ‘Famous Friends’ Track List

  1. Raised on Country
  2. Famous Friends (with Kane Brown)
  3. Town Ain’t Big Enough (with Lauren Alaina)
  4. Drowning
  5. Rescue Me
  6. Break Like You Do
  7. At the End of a Bar (with Mitchell Tenpenny)
  8. Love Looks Good on You
  9. One of Them Nights
  10. When You’re Drinking
  11. Cross Every Line
  12. Hold My Beer Watch This
  13. Best Seat in the House
  14. Tonight We’re Dancing