HomeEntertainmentMusicCMT Releases Nominees for Video of the Year Award

CMT Releases Nominees for Video of the Year Award

by Jacklyn Krol
Gail Schulman, Getty Images

The 2020 CMT Awards Video of the Year nominees have been revealed.

The CMT Awards’ Video of the Year

CMT revealed the six nominees on Monday (October 12). Fans can vote for their favorite through October 21. Carrie Underwood is nominated for “Drinking Alone” while Keith Urban is nominated for “Polaroid.” Kelsea Ballerini is a finalist for “homecoming queen?” and Luke Combs is being honored for “Beer Never Broke My Heart.” Finally, Miranda Lambert is nominated for “Bluebird” and Tanya Tucker is nominated for “Bring My Flowers Now.”

“You guys voted your booties off and now we’re on the final category for VIDEO OF THE YEAR yay yay thank you,” Ballerini wrote after receiving the nomination.

“Y’all!!!! Bring My Flowers Now made it to the final round for @CMT Video of the Year,” Tucker tweeted. “This song means so much to me and I appreciate all of the love, support and votes!!! If your heart is in them flowers, bring ‘em on!”

Lambert also shared her thanks with fans and asked her fans to vote for “Bluebird.”

The fan-voted awards show airs on October 21at 8:00 PM ET on CMT, MTV, MTV2, Logo, Paramount Network, Pop and TV Land. Fans can vote until the actual awards show begins. Video of the Year voting will be open through a portion of the live show.

All About The Awards

Notably, The Chicks are nominated for their first CMT nomination since 2007. The show has also bridged genres in a way.
Pop singer Halsey, electronic powerhouse Marshmello, and pop/rock queen Gwen Stefani are also nominated.

Carrie Underwood is the most awarded artist in CMT Awards history with 20 wins. Last year she took home Video of the Year for “Cry Pretty.”

Kane Brown and actress Sarah Hyland will co-host the show alongside two other celebrities that will be revealed at a later date. Brown, Ashley McBryde, Dan + Shay, Little Big Town, Luke Bryan and Maren Morris are set to perform.

Additionally, Caylee Hammack, HARDY, Ingrid Andress, Mickey Guyton, Riley Green and Travis Denning will perform on the Ram Trucks Side Stage.

Additional performers and presenters will be announced at a later date. The show will take place around and outside Nashville, Tennessee with no live audience.