CMT Awards 2021: Carrie Underwood to Join NEEDTOBREATHE for ‘I Wanna Remember’ Performance

by Jim Casey
(Photo by Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for ACM)

Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Thomas Rhett, and more will perform at the CMT Music Awards on June 9. Hosted by Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown, the show will feature a number of newly announced performers, including:

  • Carrie Underwood and NEEDTOBREATHE
  • Mickey Guyton and BRELAND
  • Chris Young and Kane Brown
  • Kelsea Ballerini and Paul Klein
  • Lauren Alaina and Jon Pardi
  • Lady A, Carly Pearce, and Gabby Barrett
  • Thomas Rhett
  • Luke Bryan

Previously announced performers include:

  • Brothers Osborne and Dierks Bentley
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Luke Combs
  • Mickey Guyton and Gladys Knight
  • Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram, and Jon Randall

The 2021 CMT Music Awards will air on Wednesday, June 9, at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT on CMT, MTV, MTV2, Logo, Paramount Network, and TV Land. In addition, the fan-voted award show will feature two-and-a-half hours of performances and collaborations. Voting is open now through June 1. The top six finalists will be revealed for Video of the Year on June 1, with voting continuing through the show on June 9.

Carrie + Bear

During the show, Carrie will join forces with Christian rock band NEEDTOBREATHE to perform their new collaboration, “I Wanna Remember.”

NEEDTOBREATHE’s Bear Rinehart provided background vocals on Carrie’s rendition of “Nothing But the Blood of Jesus” on her 2021 gospel album, My Savior. Carrie returned the vocal favor on NEEDTOBREATHE’s new song, “I Wanna Remember.”

“I have been a huge fan of NEEDTOBREATHE forever, and I was so honored when the stars aligned and Bear agreed to lend his incredible vocals to a song on my recent gospel album,” said Carrie Underwood in a press release. “Needless to say, I was thrilled when he and the band invited me to be a part of their new project. I love the song and have had the best time getting to know and sing with these amazingly talented guys.”

NEEDTOBREATHE will release its upcoming studio album, Into the Mystery, on July 30.