CMT Music Awards 2021: How, When to Watch

by Jacklyn Krol

The 2021 CMT Music Awards are almost here!

On Wednesday, June 9, the awards show will air live from Nashville, Tennessee. The event will be aired at 8 PM ET and will last two and a half hours. Fans can tune in on CMT, MTV, MTV2, Logo, Paramount Network, and TV Land to watch it.

This year’s awards show will be hosted by Kane Brown and Kelsea Ballerini. This marks Brown’s second time hosting, as he co-hosted last year’s ceremony in October, which was postponed due to the pandemic.

“I loved getting a chance to host the CMT Music Awards last year and I’m excited to be back this year with Kelsea,” Brown said in a press release. “The CMT Music Awards are special to me – it’s the first industry award I won and getting on that stage was an amazing feeling. I love that the fans get to have their voices heard as we celebrate the best in country music.”

“The CMT Awards are so special because they are truly fan-voted,” Ballerini noted. “Following a year plus where we have not been able to be with the fans and share music together will make this night even more special.”

Presenters will include both country stars and entertainment icons. Marvel actor Anthony Mackie, host Michael Strahan, music icon Gladys Knight, and Tennessee Titans’ Taylor Lewan will all be presenting among other notable names.

CMT Music Awards Nominees And Performers

This year, Maren Morris and Miranda Lambert are the most nominated artists with four nominations each. Mickey Guyton is a first-time nominee and is nominated in three categories.

Fans can still vote for their favorite artist in the Video of the Year category at The other categories have been closed for voting.

The Rams Trucks Side Stage is where up and coming country artists perform. This year, Dylan Scott, Hailey Whitters, Lainey Wilson, Niko Moon and Tenille Arts will perform on it.

Numerous collaborations will take place with some of the biggest names in country music and even other genres. Carrie Underwood will perform with NEEDTOBREATHE, while Chris Young and Kane Brown will perform their duet. Chris Stapleton and R&B sensation H.E.R. will take the stage and Kelsea Ballerini will team up with J.P. Saxe and LANY member Paul Klein.

Other performers include: Mickey Guyton, Brothers Osborne, Dierks Bentley, Lady A, Carly Pearce, Lindsay Ell, Lauren Alaina, Jon Pardi, Luke Bryan, Luke Combs, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall, Jack Ingram, Breland and Thomas Rhett.