CMT Music Awards 2021: Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown Announced as This Year’s Co-Hosts

by Jacklyn Krol

The 2021 CMT Music Awards have two hosts this year!

On Wednesday (May 12), CMT announced that Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown will be hosting the 2021 CMT Music Awards. This will be Brown’s second consecutive year co-hosting, as last year he hosted alongside actress Sarah Hyland and Ashley McBryde. This will be Ballerini’s first time hosting the CMTs.

“I’m so excited to be hosting the 2021 CMT Music Awards with Kane,” Ballerini said in a statement. “The CMT Awards are so special because they are truly fan voted. Following a year plus where we have not been able to be with the fans and share music together, will make this night even more special.”

Brown added that he’s so excited to be back this year. He revealed just how special this awards show is to him.

“It’s the first industry award I won and getting on that stage was an amazing feeling,” he said. “I love that the fans get to have their voices heard as we celebrate the best in country music.”

CMT producers shared that the show will feature “incredible outdoor performances, cross-genre collaborations and a few surprises!”

All About The 2021 CMT Music Awards

CMT offers country music’s only entirely fan-voted award show. This year’s nominations will be announced tomorrow, Thursday (May 13) at 10 am ct. Fans can also begin voting for their favorite artists on their website, Voting will conclude on June 1 at 11 pm ct.

The show takes place live from Nashville, Tennessee on June 9. The show will be broadcast at 7 pm ct on CMT. Fans can also tune in to the simulcast on MTV, MTV2, Logo, Paramount Network, or TV Land.

Last year’s show took place in October after being delayed from June due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The show took place around Music City and featured mostly outdoor performances.

Carrie Underwood is essentially CMT royalty. She currently holds the title of the most-awarded artist in history with 20 wins. Additionally, she has the most wins in the Video of the Year category with 8. This past year, Underwood took home the coveted prize of Video of the Year for “Drinking Alone.”

The last show was a whirlwind with countless surprise performances, collaborations, and wins. Gabby Barrett walked away with the 2020 award for Breakthrough Video of the Year for “I Hope.” Meanwhile, Gwen Stefani became a CMT winner for the first time in the Collaborative Video of the Year category for “Nobody But You” with fiance Blake Shelton.