HomeEntertainmentMusicCountry Throwback: Brad Paisley Hilariously Accepts Album of the Year Award at ACM Awards 2006

Country Throwback: Brad Paisley Hilariously Accepts Album of the Year Award at ACM Awards 2006

by Quentin Blount
(Photo by Mike Coppola/Getty Images)

For this edition of our country throwback, we are taking it back to 2006 when Brad Paisley accepted an ACM Award in hilarious fashion.

Paisley’s album, Time Well Wasted, scored Paisley both ACM and CMA Awards for Best Album.

While accepting the award at the ACMs, Paisley introduced Nashville record producer and fellow collaborator, Frank Rogers.

“This is Frank Rogers, he’s been with me since we used to stay up late and take hours in the studio at Belmont [University] and practice if we ever got this chance,” Paisley says in the video. “I’ve always wanted to win this award.”

Shortly after, a hilarious moment took place when Paisley calls out Rogers for his phone ringing while giving his acceptance speech.

Paisley is going through his list of thank-yous when he stops and points to Rogers. “Your phone is ringing, Frank. Answer that.”

Brad Paisley and Rogers met at Belmont. And, as a result, their gradual success in the music business is tightly intertwined. Rogers has produced several of Paisley’s albums and has been a co-writer of many of his songs. That includes a few of Paisley’s smash hits such as “I’m Gonna Miss Her (The Fishin’ Song),” as well as “Who Needs Pictures” and “Me Neither.”

Brad Paisley was the Top Winner at the 2006 ACMs

Paisley was the top winner on the night overall. In addition to picking up an album of the year nod for Time Well Wasted, he also got two additional awards. His album included a collaboration with Dolly Parton for “When I Get Where I’m Going,” which won the CMA Award for Musical Event of the Year.

That same year, Paisley embarked on a successful tour with rising star Carrie Underwood serving as his opening act.

Meanwhile, Time Well Wasted came on the heels of his sold-out Two Hats and Redhead Tour with Reba McEntire and Terri Clark.

Furthermore, Underwood was named top new female vocalist at the awards. She also won in the single of the year category for her hit, “Jesus, Take the Wheel.”

Not surprisingly, Brooks & Dunn walked away with the top duo of the year honor. A song of the year nod went to “Believe,” written by Ronnie Dunn and Craig Wiseman.

Kenny Chesney was the winner of the entertainer of the year trophy. Other winners during the show at the MGM Grand included Jason Aldean, Sugarland, Rascal Flatts, Sara Evans and Keith Urban.