HomeEntertainmentMusicCountry Throwback: Watch the Remastered Music Video for George Strait’s ‘I Cross My Heart’

Country Throwback: Watch the Remastered Music Video for George Strait’s ‘I Cross My Heart’

by Quentin Blount
Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images

The remastered music video for “I Cross My Heart” by country music legend George Strait is something that all of his fans need to see.

“I Cross My Heart” was written by Steve Dorff and Eric Kaz. It was the first single from the George Strait album Pure Country, which is also the soundtrack to the movie of the same title. The song is featured as the movie’s finale. It reached number one in both the United States and Canada.

The King of Country put out some of the best music of his 40-plus-year career in 1992 when he was involved in acting. Strait played the character of country singer Dusty Wyatt Chandler in the Warner Bros. film Pure Country.

Pure Country is the soundtrack album to the 1992 film of the same name, and the thirteenth studio album by country singer George Strait. The film stars Strait as the fictional country singer and consists mostly of songs sung by Dusty in the film. The Pure Country soundtrack is Strait’s first soundtrack album. It was released in 1992 by MCA Records.

Although the film was only a mild success, the film’s soundtrack album is Strait’s most commercially successful album, having sold over six million copies.

“I Cross My Heart” is without a doubt one of the more popular songs Strait has released during his illustrious career. He initially released a music video for it in 1992 and all the footage is scenes from Pure Country. But since it was released over 25 years ago, the quality isn’t the best. As such, Strait released the remastered music video for the song on April 25, 2019. Have a look below:

Plot of the George Strait Film, Pure Country

Sporting his iconic beard and ponytail, Dusty decides to leave his rockstar life behind for a simpler country life. As a result, he eventually meets and befriends a beautiful woman named Harley Tucker along with her family. Strait’s character quickly falls in love with Harley. Dusty enjoys the fact that they are unaware of his celebrity status. However, after finding out who he really was, Harley breaks up with him.

Meanwhile, Dusty makes a return to performing. Being able to conduct live shows the way he wants to under his new agreement, he wins Harley back by singing the new hit song “I Cross My Heart” to her.

Many of his fans have seen the film Pure Country, but there are plenty who likely haven’t seen the remastered music video. Even for those who haven’t seen the movie, they’ve likely heard the music from the film. The soundtrack includes 11 songs that were featured in the movie:

  1. “Heartland” (Steve Dorff, John Bettis)
  2. “Baby Your Baby” (Phil Thomas, Hal Newman)
  3. I Cross My Heart” (Dorff, Eric Kaz)
  4. “When Did You Stop Loving Me” (Donny Kees, Monty Holmes)
  5. “She Lays It All on the Line” (Clay Blaker)
  6. “Overnight Male” (Richard Fagan, Kim Williams, Ron Harbin)
  7. “Last in Love” (J. D. Souther, Glenn Frey)
  8. “Thoughts of a Fool” (Mel Tillis, Wayne P. Walker)
  9. “The King of Broken Hearts” (Jim Lauderdale)
  10. “Where the Sidewalk Ends” (Lauderdale, John Leventhal)
  11. “Heartland (Main Title Sequence)” (Dorff, Bettis)