HomeEntertainmentMusicDan + Shay’s ‘10,000 Hours’ Nominated for AMA Collaboration of the Year with Justin Beiber

Dan + Shay’s ‘10,000 Hours’ Nominated for AMA Collaboration of the Year with Justin Beiber

by Jacklyn Krol
John Shearer, Getty Images

Dan + Shay and Justin Bieber are nominated for the coveted Collaboration of the Year at the 2020 American Music Awards!

The Nomination Category

The Collaboration of the Year is an all-genre category. The AMAs announced the nominees on Monday (October 26) during Good Morning America.

Aside from Bieber and the duo’s collaboration, a number of crossover duets were also nominated. Firstly, Cardi B and Megan Thee Stallion’s viral “WAP” is on the shortlist. “Rockstar” by DaBaby and Roddy Rich is also nominated. Lady Gaga and Ariana Grande’s anthemic “Rain On Me” also received a nod. Finally, Megan Thee Stallion and Beyoncé’s “Savage” remix is also nominated.

About ‘10,000 Hours’

The song has special meaning for the trio and it was even performed at Justin Bieber’s wedding to Hailey Baldwin-Bieber. “We sang ‘Speechless’ and then Justin jumped on stage,” Dan Smyers told Access Hollywood. “We were about to release our new single ‘10,000 Hours.’ We had not ever performed it live. And he was like ‘Yo, you guys gotta sing ‘10,000 Hours’ and he’s on the song with us and it was like, ‘Uh, I don’t wanna embarrass ourselves but we don’t quite know the words. We’ve never sang it in front of anybody.’ We hacked our way through it. It was cool.”

All About the 2020 American Music Awards

The AMAs are the largest fan-voted awards show in the world. It is seen in over 200 countries globally. How do artists get nominated? There are several key points that the committee looks for. Fan interactions, streaming, album and digital sales, radio airplay, and social media.

“These measurements are tracked by Billboard and its data partners MRC Data and Next Big Sound,” a press release reads. The eligibility period is from September 27, 2019, through September 27, 2020. Finally, the awards show is entirely voted by fans now. Fans can vote on Twitter or on the AMAs website.