Lady A to Release 8th Studio Album, ‘What a Song Can Do,’ on October 22

by Samantha Whidden

Exciting news, Lady A fans! On Friday (August 20th) the country group took to their social media accounts to announce they are releasing their eighth studio album What A Song Can Do on October 22nd. 

Lady A shared more details about the upcoming album by stating, “As we set out to make this record, we can’t help but look back and see how much this past year has transformed us. The good and the bad.”

Lady A further shares that the record comes straight from the “most vulnerable places” in the bandmates’ hearts. “[It] has felt like a love letter to our fans from the very start.”

The Lady A bandmates will go live on Instagram this evening (5 p.m. CT) to share more details about the upcoming album. The group also released their new single, “Where Would I Be” as well. “There’s so much more to come down the line, so stay tuned.”

Lady A Opens Up About Upcoming Album ‘What A Song Can Do’

Lady A bandmate Charles Kelley also spoke about the new album and how it stands out from the rest. “We’ve discovered our purpose. And it’s to entertain and spread a positive message. I really truly believe that.” 

Kelley further explains that he wants Lady A’s legacy to be songs that make people feel good. “But, I also think there’s more to our story that hasn’t been written yet.”

What A Song Can Do’s tracklist is:

  1. “Talk of This Town”
  2. “What A Song Can Do”
  3. “Like A Lady”
  4. “Things He Handed Down”
  5. “Fire”
  6. “Chance of Rain”
  7. “Worship What I Hate”
  8. “Where Would I Be”
  9. Friends Don’t Let Friends” (Featuring Carly Pearce, Thomas Rhett, Darius Rucker)
  10. “In Waves” 
  11. “You Keep Thinking That”
  12. “Be That For You”
  13. “Workin’ On This Love”
  14. “Swore I Was Leaving”

Those interested in pre-ordering the upcoming album can do so through here.

Lady A Bandmates Vow to Never Be Known As A ‘Bandzilla’

According to People, the Lady A bandmates opened up about the connection they have with each other and how they vow to never be considered “Bandzillas.”

Lady A’s Dave Haywood shared, “There was just this moment of, you know what? We’ve all watched these bands on Behind the Music. We know how this goes. We’re not going to do that.”

Hillary Scott also chimed in to say at the end of the day when the group doesn’t see eye to eye, they always come back to the truth that they are so much more special. “There’s a magic there that could never be captured individually. Honestly, that’s just putting your pride aside and accepting that you can’t go through life alone.”