New Johnny Cash Live Album From 1968 ‘At the Carousel Ballroom’ to Be Released

by Jim Casey
(Photo by Hulton Archive/Getty Images)

A Johnny Cash live concert from 1968 will be released as an album, Johnny Cash, At the Carousel Ballroom, on September 24.

In the span of 13 months in the late 1960s, Johnny Cash released two seminal live albums, 1968’s At Folsom Prison and 1969’s At San Quentin. In between those two live prison concerts in California, Johnny performed at The Carousel Ballroom in San Francisco on April 24, 1968. Of course, The Carousel wasn’t a prison. It was a counterculture venue in the heart of Haight-Ashbury that was briefly operated as a collective by Jefferson Airplane and The Grateful Dead, among others. The venue was later rebranded as The Fillmore West.

Owsley “Bear” Stanley, a renowned audio engineer for The Grateful Dead, as well as the in-house engineer at The Carousel, captured the concert. This upcoming release marks the latest entry in the “Bear’s Sonic Journals” series, which has previously included Stanley’s live recordings of The Allman Brothers Band, Tim Buckley, Doc & Merle Watson, and more.

The new album features 28 songs, including Cash classics like “Cocaine Blues,” “Jackson,” “Ring of Fire,” “Big River,” “I Walk the Line,” and more. In addition, the album includes Cash taking on two Bob Dylan compositions, “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right” and “One Too Many Mornings.”

During the concert, Cash was backed by his legendary band, The Tennessee Three (Luther Perkins, Marshall Grant, and W.S. Holland). In addition, Johnny’s new bride, June Carter Cash, was onstage with him that night.

The live album includes new essays by Johnny and June Carter Cash’s son John Carter Cash, Owsley Stanley’s son Starfinder Stanley, The Grateful Dead’s Bob Weir, Widespread Panic’s Dave Schools, and more.

“When you hear this, you feel like you are on the stage with the band,” said Starfinder Stanley in a press release.

“[At The Carousel is] what I believe to be one of the most intimate and connected shows I have ever heard,” added John Carter Cash.

Listen to “I’m Going to Memphis” from the upcoming album.

  1. Cocaine Blues
  2. Long Black Veil
  3. Orange Blossom Special (CD and Digital only)
  4. Going to Memphis
  5. The Ballad of Ira Hayes
  6. Rock Island Line
  7. Guess Things Happen That Way
  8. One Too Many Mornings
  9. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
  10. Give My Love to Rose
  11. Green, Green Grass of Home
  12. Old Apache Squaw
  13. Lorena
  14. Forty Shades of Green
  15. Bad News
  16. Jackson
  17. Tall Lover Man
  18. June’s Song Introduction
  19. Wildwood Flower
  20. Foggy Mountain Top
  21. This Land Is Your Land
  22. Wabash Cannonball
  23. Worried Man Blues
  24. Long Legged Guitar Pickin’ Man
  25. Ring of Fire
  26. Big River
  27. Don’t Take Your Guns to Town
  28. I Walk the Line