HomeEntertainmentMusicOn This Day: Miranda Lambert’s ‘Platinum’ Album Certified Platinum in 2016

On This Day: Miranda Lambert’s ‘Platinum’ Album Certified Platinum in 2016

by Kayla Zadel
(Photo by Rick Diamond/Getty Images for BMI)

Miranda Lambert increased her heavy medal status on this day 5 years ago. We knew that she loved platinum and when her album Platinum came out and when went the same color, well that just solidified it.

This fourth album of Lambert’s was released on June 3, 2014. Platinum debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200, and it became the first of her records to top the chart. Platinum also went to No. 1 on the Top Country Album chart. As a matter of fact, she sold 180,000 copies in the first week, making it the highest first-sales week of Miranda Lambert’s career. Furthermore, it went platinum after selling one million copies in the United States.

Miranda Lambert wrote 8 of the 16 tracks on the album. She collaborated with songwriters like Chris DeStefano and Ashley Monroe. Also, Miranda Lambert has guest performances on the record from Little Big Town, The Time Jumpers, and Carrie Underwood.

Four singles from Platinum were released to promote the album. The lead single was “Automatic.” Then there was the top 20 hit, “Little Red Wagon,” and rounding out the list is “Smokin’ and Drinkin” with Little Big Town, and Miranda Lambert’s duet with Carrie Underwood, “Somethin’ Bad.”

Not only did this album reach platinum status but it earned Miranda Lambert a Grammy Award for Best Country Album, plus a CMA Award and ACM Award in the same category.

Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood Rock ‘Somethin’ Bad’ Performance

Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood performed the song at the 2014 Billboard Music Awards, and then again at the CMT Music Awards.

“There’s humor on this album and nostalgia, and it’s feminine,” Miranda Lambert explains according to The Boot. “There’s girl power, not in the ‘I’m gonna burn your house down and kill you’ [way], but more where I am as a 30-year-old woman and wife. I’m more settled in life, embracing the good and the bad, and that’s all reflected on Platinum.”

Miranda Lambert, ‘Platinum’ Track Listing:

1. ‘Girls’
2. ‘Platinum’
3. ‘Little Red Wagon’
4. ‘Smokin’ and Drinkin’ (feat. Little Big Town)’
5. ‘Priscilla’
6. ‘Automatic’
7. ‘Bathroom Sink’
8. ‘Old Sh!t’
9. ‘All That’s Left (feat. The Time Jumpers)’
10. ‘Gravity Is a B**ch’
11. ‘Babies Makin’ Babies’
12. ‘Somethin’ Bad (duet with Carrie Underwood)’
13. ‘Holding On to You’
14. ‘Two Rings Shy’
15. ‘Hard Staying Sober’
16. ‘Another Sunday in the South’

Lambert’s Little Big Town Group Performance on ‘Platinum’

Miranda Lambert shares how the collaboration on “Smokin’ and Drinkin” came to be.

“[Little Big Town member Karen Fairchild] told me, ‘You have a song I want!’,” Miranda Lambert recounts in an interview. “So I said, ‘If I cut it, will y’all sing on it?’ This was at the CMT Awards, just joking around in the dressing room. But when I went in to record it, I thought, ‘If Little Big Town wants to sing on my record, we are damn sure taking advantage of it!’ I can’t even imagine what it would sound like without them.”

Miranda Lambert and Little Big Town’s duet went onto win Academy of Country Music Award for Vocal Event of the Year in 2014.