Trace Adkins Thinks His Singing and Performing are ‘Better’ Than They’ve Ever Been

by Chris Haney

In a recent interview, country star Trace Adkins spoke about his career and newest album while claiming that he’s better than ever as a musical artist.

The country musician spoke with PEOPLE about his newly released album The Way I Wanna Go. The album, which released on August 27, is an extensive celebration of Adkins’ 25-year career. The new album marks the 25th anniversary of his debut album Dreamin’ Out Loud. In addition, The Way I Wanna Go is comprised of 25 new tracks that make up the lengthy album.

Adkins is a veteran of the country music scene that is also a longtime member of the Grand Ole Opry. The Louisiana native has sold more than 11 million albums during his iconic career. Yet when speaking to PEOPLE, Adkins said that he hasn’t lost his voice at 59-years-old. In fact, he thinks certain aspects of his singing and performing have gotten better over the years.

“I still have the range that I have always had, but I think my lower range has gotten better,” Adkins told PEOPLE. “But that just comes with age, you know? But I mean, yeah, I haven’t lost anything. My chops are still good.”

“It’s a shame in a way,” he added. “You get to this point of your career where you’re better at your craft than you’ve ever been, and nobody gives a…”

The country star’s newest album is packed with features, including some surprising collaborations Adkins’ fans may not have expected. One of the highlights of the album is the track “Love Walks Through the Rain,” which features Melissa Etheridge.

“When I heard the vocal on that song, I was like ‘Oh my God, that’s Melissa,'” Adkins told PEOPLE of the collaboration. “She still sounds so amazing.”

Additionally, he worked with another country star in Luke Bryan and Latin-American rapper Pitbull on the single “Where the Country Girls At.” Yet Pitbull isn’t the only surprise guest on The Way I Wanna Go. Legendary West Coast rapper Snoop Dogg also features on Trace Adkins’ 25-song album.

There are numerous cross-genre collaborations on the album along with other country stars, including Blake Shelton. He even had the iconic Stevie Wonder add a harmonica part to the song “Memory to Memphis,” which also features blues legend Keb’ Mo’.

‘The Way I Wanna Go’ Track List

  1. “Where I Am Today”
  2. “Heartbreak Song”
  3. “Where The Country Girls At” feat. Luke Bryan & Pitbull
  4. “Cadillac’n”
  5. “Finding My Groove”
  6. “Cowboy Boots and Jeans”
  7. “Live It Lonely”
  8. “Love Walks Through The Rain” feat. Melissa Etheridge
  9. “Honey Child”
  10. “It’s A Good Thing I Don’t Drink”
  11. “Jesus Was A Hippie”
  12. “Memory to Memphis” feat. Keb’ Mo’ & Stevie Wonder on harmonica
  13. “You’re Mine”
  14. “The Way I Wanna Go”
  15. “It All Adds Up To Us”
  16. “If I Was A Woman” feat. Blake Shelton
  17. “Got It Down”
  18. “Careful Girl”
  19. “Empty Chair”
  20. “Cowboy Up”
  21. Somewhere In America”
  22. “So Do The Neighbors” feat. Snoop Dogg
  23. “I Should Let You Go”
  24. “Low Note”
  25. “Welcome To”