HomeEntertainmentMusicWhiskey Myers Drops New Single ‘John Wayne,’ Announces New Album

Whiskey Myers Drops New Single ‘John Wayne,’ Announces New Album

by Hannah Heser
(Photo by Scott Legato/Getty Images)

After a month of cryptic posts, teasing, and hinting Whiskey Myers finally let the cat out of the bag. At midnight, they dropped “John Wayne” the lead single from their upcoming album Tornillo. As Cody Cannon told Outsider back in January, the new music is 100% pure WM at its heart. There are, however, some great new additions to the sound. Check out the new single below.

While you’re at it, check out the horn-driven album intro “Tornillo” which dropped with the new single. It sounds like something out of a spaghetti western and makes the wait for the new record feel that much longer.

Whiskey Myers Breaks Big News

Whiskey Myers didn’t just drop a brand new single. They also announced a new album. Tornillo will hit shelves and streaming on July 29th. The name is a nod to Tornillo, Texas, the home of the Sonic Ranch studio where the band recorded and produced the record as well as their 2019 self-titled album.

With their 2019 release, Whiskey Myers found success by doing things their way. The Sonic Ranch gave them all the tools to do that. With this release, the band is stretching their creative legs a little more. So, it makes sense that they would give a nod to the small Texas town where the magic happened.

According to a press release, Whiskey Myers cast a wide net when gathering influences for this record. With Tornillo, Cody Cannon and the boys are pulling influences from country icons like Waylon Jennings and grunge forerunners like Nirvana and everything in between. As usual, Cannon handled most of the writing for the upcoming record. However, other WM members, John Jeffers (steel, slide, lead guitar), Jamey Gleaves (bass), and Tony Kent (drums) also have co-writing credits. Additionally, Cannon teamed up with singer-songwriter Aaron Raitiere to co-pen “Mission to Mars.”

Cody Cannon on New Sounds for Tornillo

Last month, Cody Cannon sat down with Outsider‘s Jim Casey to discuss the band’s upcoming album. Cannon said that they wanted to go a little further into new territory with the then-unnamed record.

“So this will be our second self-produced album,” Cannon told Outsider. “Yeah, we wrote all the songs. Just kind of the same ol’ Wiggy stuff. We did go out there…we ventured. It’s going to have a little bit different sound. We added a bunch of stuff we haven’t used before.”

“We just wanted to do something a little different,” he added. “I mean, it’s still Whiskey Myers at its core. But it’s kind of fresh and a little bit different sound. We did a lot of brass and horns on this one, which is something we’ve always wanted to do,” Cannon said of the new sounds on the record.

One thing is for sure, this summer is going to be hotter than East Texas in July thanks to Tornillo.

Tornillo Tracklist

This summer, we’ll have a dozen new Whiskey Myers tracks to enjoy. Check out the full tracklist for the upcoming record below.

  1. Tornillo
  2. John Wayne
  3. Antioch
  4. Feet’s
  5. Whole World Gone Crazy
  6. For the Kids
  7. The Wolf
  8. Mission to Mars
  9. Bad Medicine
  10. Heavy on Me
  11. Other Side
  12. Heart of Stone