HomeEntertainmentRock & Roll Hall of Fame 2021 Nominees Announced: See the Full List

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2021 Nominees Announced: See the Full List

by Chris Haney
(Photo by George Rose/Getty Images)

On Wednesday morning, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announced their 2021 nominees, with Jay-Z, Tina Turner, and Foo Fighters included in the list.

The diverse group of musical artists that have been nominated will find out if they will be inducted in May. Subsequently, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2021 Induction Ceremony will take place in Cleveland, Ohio and is scheduled for the fall.

“This remarkable ballot reflects the diversity and depth of the artists and music the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame celebrates,” says John Sykes, Chairman, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. “These Nominees have left an indelible impact on the sonic landscape of the world and influenced countless artists that have followed them.”

Individual artists or bands are only eligible to be nominated 25 years after their first commercial recording has released. In addition, the public will once again be able to participate in the induction selection process. From now until April 30, music fans can vote each day for their favorite artists on the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s website. Fans in the Cleveland, OH area can also stop by to cast their ballot in person.

The public’s votes will be tallied to determine the top five artists selected for induction. This will make up a “fans’ ballot” that will be added to other ballots by a committee, which combined chooses the 2021 inductees.

Full List of 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Nominees

  • Carole King
  • Chaka Khan
  • Devo
  • Dionne Warwick
  • Fela Kuti
  • Foo Fighters
  • Iron Maiden
  • Jay-Z
  • Kate Bush
  • LL Cool J
  • Mary J. Blige
  • New York Dolls
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • The Go-Go’s
  • Tina Turner
  • Todd Rundgren

More on the 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Nominees

Brooklyn native Jay-Z headlines the list of nominees in just his first year of Rock & Roll Hall of Fame eligibility. If the rapper and music label executive is inducted, he will be only the third solo hip-hop artist to join the hall. So far, the hall has only inducted Tupac Shakur (2017) and the Notorious B.I.G. (2020) posthumously.

Foo Fighters, who just released their newest album Medicine at Midnight on Feb. 5, are also nominated in their first year of eligibility. If they make the hall, it will be lead singer Dave Grohl‘s second induction into the hallowed grounds. His first induction is with ’90s grunge band Nirvana.

Other first-time nominees include legendary diva Dionne Warwick, who is long overdue for consideration. The singer, 80, has been eligible since 1988 but has yet to make the cut.

Additionally, there are a few more first-timers, including English heavy metal band Iron Maiden, new wave band The Go-Go’s, and Nigerian great Fela Kuti. Furthermore, Carole King — already in the rock hall since 1990 as a songwriter — received her first nomination as a performer. 

The list includes numerous female performers, including Mary J. Blige, Kate Bush and Tina Turner. The “Queen of Rock ‘n’ Roll” is already in the rock hall as half of Ike and Tina Turner. If voted in, Turner would be only the second female performer to be inducted twice alongside Stevie Nicks.

Another funk-soul singer, Chaka Khan, is on her sixth nomination. It will be her third as a solo artist along with her three other nominations with Rufus featuring Chaka Khan.

Devo, LL Cool J, the New York Dolls, Rage Against the Machine and Todd Rundgren round out the rest of the nominations.