Jimmy Buffett Releases New Acoustic Version of ‘Delaney Talks to Statues’ Ahead of Reimagined Album Release

by Suzanne Halliburton

The pandemic-born reflection of Jimmy Buffett is giving his fans a new take on his old songs.

On Thursday, Buffett released a new version of “Delaney Talks to Statues,” which is part of his reimagined album, “Songs You Don’t Know By Heart.”

Delaney is Buffett’s 28-year-old daughter. Buffett released the song in 1994 when Delaney was a child.

“It’s been a large silver lining to spend this time with Delaney revisiting these songs and having the time to recall the inspirations behind them,” Buffett told “Rolling Stone. “We now actually do know the songs we didn’t know by heart, steered by our fans’ love of songs beyond the ‘Big 12.’”

The album is set for a release, Nov. 27.

Jimmy Buffett Says Quarantine Quiet Time Inspired Album

The idea of a reimagined album was born this spring in the midst of the pandemic shutdown. Buffett, via social media, asked his fans which of his lesser-known songs would they like to see him redo.

Delaney Buffett produced a video series, filming her Dad playing the songs. The series also featured Buffett telling the stories that inspired the songs or were prompted by them.

“The interesting thing about being quarantined and not being out there running at full speed is to do this and look back on these songs. Because I forget I’ve been doing this for 45 years,” says Buffett, who will be 74 on Christmas Day. “I’ve written a lot of songs. And it’s kind of having a little vacation with my former self to play these songs.”

Delaney said of the video series: “The concept was to film dad and give intimate looks into songs and go down memory lane. I sit down one-on-one with him and get an unplugged version of these songs. Not only to jog his memory, but also mine to remember the stories he would tell. Some songs he knew off cuff, and others it took some time for him to remember.””

Songs You Don’t Know by Heart Track List

1. “I Have Found Me A Home”
2. “Woman Goin’ Crazy on Caroline Street”
3. “The Captain and the Kid”
4. “Delaney Talks To Statues”
5. “Twelve Volt Man”
6. “Peanut Butter Conspiracy”
7. “Something So Feminine About A Mandolin”
8. “Love In The Library”
9. “Chanson Pour Les Petits Enfants”
10. “The Night I Painted The Sky”
11. “Cowboy In The Jungle”
12. “Little Miss Magic”
13. “Tin Cup Chalice”
14. “Tonight I Just Need My Guitar”
15. “Death Of An Unpopular Poet”