Watch Carrie Underwood Team With Dan + Shay for In-Studio Performance of New Song ‘Only Us’ From Upcoming Movie ‘Dear Evan Hansen’

by Kati Kuuseoks

Carrie Underwood recently rocked the CMA Summer Jam stage. You can read about and watch her performance with Dwight Yoakam here. She nailed it, but the show left fans craving even more Underwood. Her newest collaboration released today is already gaining a lot of attention.

Underwood teamed up with iconic duo Dan + Shay for a special in-studio performance. Together, they tackled the song “Only Us” from the upcoming movie revamp of “Dear Evan Hansen.” Here’s what you missed.

The Trio in Action: Carrie Underwood, Dan + Shay

The official Dear Evan Hansen Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is set to release September 24th through Interscope Records. This is the first project Carrie Underwood has worked on with Dan + Shay, making it a much-anticipated collaboration. Dan Smyers produced the ballad and this trio added nuances of passion through their performance together.

Carrie Underwood opens the video by asking duo Dan + Shay if they can “do something fun together, just because.” She goes on to ask if they can sing “top to bottom” together.

They all joke about being unsure of the performance and Underwood says “let’s see what happens.” They waste no time and jump right into the stripped-down performance.

There’s no giant crowd to cheer them on or orchestra to fill the room. There’s no 5 piece rock band to accompany them either. Instead, their raw voices are meant to shine. The video ultimately has three mini storylines going on.

The first and most obvious include singing shots from the studio. This is where Carrie Underwood really shines. Next, we see clips that detail the song’s arrangement and mixing process. We see the trio behind the scenes, finding what works and what doesn’t. Lastly, we get a sneak peek at some shots pulled directly from the upcoming film and these shots get sprinkled in alongside the other shots from the studio.

Based on the original 2016 Broadway hit, “Dear Evan Hansen” explores a lot of difficult themes. It’s been described as a “generation-defining phenomenon” as a non-traditional coming of age story. The Soundtrack will feature all sorts of stars and major players. In fact, the lineup includes more than a few Oscar, Grammy, and Tony award winners.

You can catch the full performance here:

The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Tracklist

The official tracklist for the soundtrack is as follows. You’ll notice Carrie Underwood and Dan + Shay’s rendition takes the 14th spot on the album.

  • 1.  Waving Through A Window – Ben Platt & Dear Evan Hansen Choir
  • 2.  For Forever – Ben Platt
  • 3.  Sincerely Me – Colton Ryan, Ben Platt & Nik Dodani
  • 4.  Requiem – Kaitlyn Dever, Danny Pino & Amy Adams
  • 5.  If I Could Tell Her – Ben Platt & Kaitlyn Dever
  • 6.  The Anonymous Ones – Amandla Stenberg
  • 7.  You Will Be Found – Ben Platt, Amandla Stenberg, Liz Kate, DeMarius Copes, Isaac Powell, Hadiya Eshe’, Kaitlyn Dever & Dear Evan Hansen Choir
  • 8.  Only Us – Kaitlyn Dever & Ben Platt
  • 9.  Words Fail – Ben Platt
  • 10.  So Big / So Small – Julianne Moore
  • 11.  A Little Closer – Colton Ryan
  • 12.  You Will Be Found – Sam Smith feat. Summer Walker
  • 13.  The Anonymous Ones – SZA
  • 14.  Only Us – Carrie Underwood & Dan + Shay
  • 15.  A Little Closer – FINNEAS
  • 16.  Waving Through A Window – Tori Kelly