‘Chicago P.D.’: Things Are Getting Tense in the Intelligence Unit

by Keeli Parkey
chicago-pd-things-are-getting-tense-intelligence-unit

There is often drama for viewers to enjoy in every episode of “Chicago P.D.” However, it appears that things could be getting even more tense than usual inside the Intelligence Unit.

(Spoiler warning: Details from the sixth episode of the show’s ninth season will be included in this article. That episode was titled “End of Watch.” It aired on Oct. 27, 2021.)

The sixth episode of the current season of “Chicago P.D.” focused some of its time on Officer Adam Ruzek, according to Cinema Blend. Bringing Ruzek to life is actor Patrick John Flueger. As fans are aware, Officer Ruzek has had a difficult time adjusting to the changes in his chosen profession in recent years.

However, with the help of Officer Kim Burgess (played by actress Marina Squerciati), Ruzek begins to see the errors in his thinking. Also helping change his mind was him finding out that a fellow officer that he trusted was actually corrupt. So, it appears that things within the Intelligent Unit had calmed down.

Preview for the Next Episode of ‘Chicago P.D.’ Claims ‘The Team Is About to Explode’

However, that most likely isn’t the case for long. The preview for the seventh episode of the ninth season of “Chicago P.D.” shows the tensions between the members of the Intelligence Unit appear to be coming to a boiling point.

The promo begins with Desk Sgt. Trudy Platt (Amy Morton) sitting down with Sergeant Hank Voight (Jason Beghe) – the leader of the team – to discuss a very serious issue. “I can’t help but notice the tension in your unit,” Platt tells Voight.

Next, the preview shows a confrontation between Voight and Detective Jay Halstead (Jesse Lee Soffer). “What do you want from me?” Voight demands. “I don’t trust you,” Halstead fires back.

At some point, Voight will make it clear to Halstead that there might not be a place for him in the Intelligence Unit for much longer. “I can’t have you in my unit if you don’t trust me,” Voight says in a way that makes it very clear that he means what he said. Halstead, however, is undeterred. “Then kick me off it,” he responds.

The promo also promises that “the team is about to explode.” Based on that preview, it appears that an explosion of some sort is definitely in the works. Fans will just have to watch and see what happens.

You can watch the tense drama of “Chicago P.D.” on Wednesdays on NBC. Its airtime is 10 p.m. (Eastern) and 9 p.m. (Central). You can check out the preview of episode seven below.

In addition, Wednesday night is “Chicago” night on the network. The sister shows of “Chicago P.D.” – “Chicago Med” and “Chicago Fire” – also air on that day of the week. “Med” airs at 8 p.m. (Eastern) and 7 p.m. (Central). “Fire” airs at 9 p.m. (Eastern) and 8 p.m. (Central).

Outsider.com