‘FBI’ Producer Dick Wolf Explains Why They Needed an Explosive Crossover to Kick Off the Season

by Joe Rutland
fbi-producer-dick-wolf-explains-why-they-needed-explosive-crossover-kick-off-season

Franchise builder Dick Wolf managed to look at one of the most explosive cases to use as a template for “FBI” and its crossover.

Wolf, who oversees three shows under the “FBI” umbrella, talked about using the Jeffrey Epstein case when creating the story. His comments are featured in an article from Variety.

“The crossover embodies what these shows are supposed to be,” Wolf said during a Television Critics Association press tour panel. “All the shows are fiction, I start with that, but there are certain elements that will remind the audience of Jeffrey Epstein [and] other people who have been in the papers over the past year [such as] Ghislaine Maxwell.

“It’s really exciting,” Wolf, who is executive producer of all three shows, said. “It’s not the same story, but it’s a story that, in its scale, not only justifies but thrives on three hours in a row.”

‘FBI’ Will Be Leadoff Show For Three-Hour Crossover

You read that right, “FBI” fans. The initial show airs its season premiere on Tuesday, Sept. 21, at 8 p.m. Eastern, 7 p.m. Central.

The story continues on “FBI: Most Wanted” and its new season at 9 p.m. Eastern, 8 p.m. Central. “FBI: International” will wrap up the initial premiers at 10 p.m. Eastern, 9 p.m. Central.

On “FBI,” a young woman is killed while going home from a yacht party. That party had some of the world’s most influential people there. Kellan Lutz and Julian McMahon from “FBI: Most Wanted” are on this episode. They discover that the murder suspect is a veteran who served with Crosby, Lutz’s character. This kicks off the three-hour, Tuesday night crossover.

‘Most Wanted,’ ‘International’ Carry Over What Started On First Show

Then “FBI: Most Wanted” follows when the murder case goes international. They start looking for a criminal enterprise’s leader and the search takes them on a global trip. So much so, that their work carries over to “FBI: International.”

In a new series premiere, FBI’s International Fly Team focuses on calming threats against American citizens around the world.

This new series follows operatives of the FBI’s International Fly Team, which travels the world to neutralize threats against American citizens. Team members cannot carry guns, but they will have a dog along for the ride.

Wolf, who also oversees the “Law & Order” and “Chicago” franchises, said viewing habits have changed.

He said, though, that “the average is three hours — that seems to be where people are most comfortable if they’re going to sit down and watch something.”

Wolf views the crossover shows as a way viewers can “get a complete fix.” He also sees it as a “training” event for audiences to dial in for three hours.

Outsider.com