‘M*A*S*H’ and ‘The Andy Griffith Show’ Episodes Airing on TV on a New Night

by Keeli Parkey
mash-andy-griffith-show-episodes-airing-tv-new-night

Two of the most beloved shows in the history of television are making a move to a new night. These shows are “M*A*S*H” and “The Andy Griffith Show.”

According to MeTV, both of these iconic series will soon begin airing on that network on Sunday evenings. This schedule change will officially begin on Sunday, Nov. 28.

So, what time will each show air on Sundays?

Well, “The Andy Griffith Show” will air from 6 p.m. (Eastern) and 5 p.m. (Central) for one hour. “M*A*S*H” will follow on the network at 7 p.m. (Eastern) and 6 p.m. (Central).

Both “The Andy Griffith Show” and “M*A*S*H” left their marks on the history of television. And they both made stars out of their casts.

‘The Andy Griffith Show’ Entertained Audiences With the Characters of Mayberry for Eight Seasons

According to IMDb, “The Andy Griffith Show” aired for eight seasons between 1960 and 1968. In total, the show aired 249 episodes. During that time, fans got to know the fictional town of Mayberry and the unique cast of characters who called it home.

The beloved sitcom starred Andy Griffith as Sheriff Andy Taylor, Ron Howard as Opie Taylor, Don Knotts as Deputy Barney Fife, and Frances Bavier as Aunt Bee.

The popularity of this series led to not one, but two spinoff series. One was “Mayberry, R.F.D.” The other was “Gomer Pyle, U.S.M.C.” This series followed the military career of Gomer Pyle – as played by Jim Nabors.

‘M*A*S*H’ Took Viewers Into the Korean War

“The Andy Griffith Show” isn’t the only series that will air on Sunday nights on MeTV that had an iconic television career. “M*A*S*H” was also a major hit.

Through this series, viewers experienced the Korean War of the early 1950s through the drama – and the comedy – that took place in the 4077th Mobile Army Surgical Hospital (M*A*S*H) in South Korea.

“M*A*S*H” aired for 11 seasons from 1972 until 1983. The cast included Alan Alda as Benjamin Franklin “Hawkeye” Pierce, Loretta Swit as Margaret “Hot Lips” Houlihan, Jamie Farr as Maxwell Q. Klinger, Mike Farrell as B.J. Hunnicutt, Harry Morgan as Sherman T. Potter, and William Christopher as Father Francis Mulcahy.

The television fun won’t end on MeTV after “The Andy Griffith Show” and “M*A*S*H” air on Sunday evenings. There will be more to come. Beginning at 8 p.m. (Eastern) and 7 p.m. (Central) the crime series “Monk” will air for two hours. This series, which had elements of both drama and comedy, starred Tony Shaloub as the title character.

Two classic television shows will follow “Monk” on the network. Next up will be “The Ed Sullivan Show.” It will air for one hour beginning at 10 p.m. (Eastern) and 9 p.m. (Central). Following that, “Carol Burnett” will take over at 11 p.m. (Eastern) and 10 p.m. (Central).

Outsider.com