HomeNewsPresidential Candidates Joe Biden and Donald Trump Both Nominated for Nobel Peace Prize: Details

Presidential Candidates Joe Biden and Donald Trump Both Nominated for Nobel Peace Prize: Details

by Jennifer Shea
(Photo by Morry Gash-Pool/Getty Images)

Both presidential candidates now have Nobel Peace Prize nominations.

British Labour MP Chris Bryant has nominated Biden for the prize. He nominated Biden based on Biden’s penchant for political debate and argument, People reports. 

“When others have resorted to violent solutions, he has argued that the best force is the force of argument,” Bryant tells the Evening Standard.

The Nobel committee has fielded 318 nominations for the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize, The Hill reported. Any politician serving at the national level can nominate a candidate for the award. Any university professors in the areas of history, social sciences, and law can submit nominations also.

Meanwhile, President Trump has received Nobel Peace Prize nominations from Norwegians, Swedes, and Australians. They nominated him for his role in the Israel-United Arab Emirates peace deal. He also has a nomination for helping to normalize economic relations between Serbia and Kosovo. In addition, President Trump’s third nomination is for moving America away from interventions in foreign wars.

“It’s a great honor to be nominated, and I know it has tremendous significance,” Trump tells Fox News Radio. Furthermore, “I just think it’s a great thing for our country. It shows that we’re trying to make peace, not war all the time.”

Four Australian law professors nominated Trump. One of them explained that the Trump Doctrine has reversed the drift of both parties toward military expansion.

“What he has done with the Trump Doctrine is that he has decided he would no longer have America in endless wars, wars which achieve nothing but the killing of thousands of young Americans,” Professor David Flint said, according to The Hill.

The Nobel committee will announce the Nobel Peace Prize winner in October. The awards ceremony will take place in December in Oslo.