2020 Tokyo Olympics: How, When To Watch Simone Biles Return to Competition

by Joe Rutland
2020-tokyo-olympics-how-when-watch-simone-biles-return-competition

Team USA gymnast Simone Biles returns to competition Tuesday morning at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics in the women’s balance beam final.

When can people watch Biles take part in her event? 2020 Tokyo Olympics fans will have to wake up early to catch Biles’ performance live on streaming network Peacock at 4:50 a.m. Eastern, 3:50 a.m. Central time. That translates into 2:50 a.m. Mountain, 1:50 a.m. Pacific time.

It’s worth remembering that Tokyo is 13 hours ahead of the Eastern Time Zone in the United States. That also translates into Tokyo being 16 hours ahead of the Pacific Time Zone, so Biles’ balance beam final is taking place on Tuesday in Tokyo.

Biles’ balance beam competition will be part of NBC’s primetime coverage starting at 8 p.m. Eastern, 7 p.m. Central. Find your local NBC station to watch Biles.

2020 Tokyo Olympics Coverage Is Available on Multiple Platforms

The 2020 Tokyo Olympics also has programming that airs on the NBC Sports Network, USA Network, CNBC, the NBC Olympics Channel, the Golf Channel, and Telemundo.

Streaming options are also available at Peacock, NBCOlympics.com, and NBCSports.com, according to Deadline.

Additional streaming platforms that feature NBC include Sling TV, Roku, Hulu Plus, FuboTV, AT&T, Xfinity, and YouTube TV.

Now Simone Biles and her performance will be under scrutiny at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics since she has not been active in recent Team USA gymnastics events. Biles has cited her mental health and dealing with the “twisties” as reasons for not being in other events.

She’s received a lot of praise and criticism on social media platforms for not competing. At the same time, it’s brought the issue of mental health and athletics into a larger conversation

MyKayla Skinner Admitted She Was A Bit Surprised By Biles’ Decision

One of the Team USA members at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics who is expressing both happiness and a little bit of surprise at Biles competing in the women’s balance beam is teammate MyKayla Skinner. She won a silver medal in the women’s vault because Biles withdrew from that event as she has done in others while in Tokyo.

Skinner shared her thoughts with TODAY’s Hoda Kotb in an interview with the NBC morning program.

“So excited,” Skinner said. “You’re her ride-or-die. You’re one of her besties,” Kotb said. “Were you surprised when you heard the news?”

“Um, a little bit. But honestly, I’ve been talking to her every single day,” Skinner said. “And she’s, you know, kind of been like, ‘I think beam’s going to be the one.'”

Skinner is happy for Biles and will support her teammate.

“So, I’m really excited for (Simone),” Skinner said. “I’m going to cheer her on so hard and just really hope that she can medal and just do the dismount of her life.”

Outsider.com