Tokyo Olympics 2021: What to Watch This Weekend

by Megan Molseed
tokyo-olympics-2021-what-watch-this-weekend

The Tokyo Summer Olympics kicked off this morning, Friday, July 23 with an extravagant opening ceremony. This Olympic event was held almost exactly one year from the day of the original 2020 start date.

The long-awaited summer events are set to begin today and this weekend. The entire Tokyo summer Olympics event will continue through August 8.

Some of this weekend’s biggest events include tennis, soccer, gymnastics, swimming, and basketball.

Djokovic Going For a ‘Calendar Golden Slam’

Serbian tennis star, Novak Djokovic has had an amazing year. His Olympic run is a definite “must watch.” The tennis payer will be in the running for a “Calendar Golden Slam” as he takes the court this weekend. The “Calendar Golden Slam” would be the result if he takes home the gold after winning all four Grand Slams earlier this year. Novak Djokovic is currently ranked as the number one player in the sport. He will first take the court against Bolivia tennis great, Hugo Dellien on Saturday, July 24. The first day of competition. The players will come head to head during the 4th match on center court.

Mens Olympic Gymnasts to Compete In Third Subdivision

Additionally, the Men’s Gymnastics competitors will be qualifying on Saturday. The Men’s Gymnastics teams are separated into three different subdivisions. The United States Olympics competitors, Brody Malone, Sam Mikulak, Yul Moldauer, Shane Wiskus, and Alec Yoder will be in the final third and final group. Their completion kicks of at 6:30 a.m. eastern; 5:30 a.m. Central Standard time. The United States will first compete on the parallel bars. The team then rotates through each event: floor exercise, pommel horse, rings, vault, parallel bars, a high bar in the proper Olympic order.

Subdivision one will begin at 9 p.m. Subdivision two will begin at 1:30 a.m. eastern, 12:30 a.m. central time. Livestreams of these events are also available.

At 7:30 a.m. Eastern Standard Time. 6:30 a.m. central the US Women’s National Soccer Team will take the field against New Zealand during the Tokyo Olympics. NBC is airing the event. Livestreaming is also available.

The United States Olympic Women’s Basketball team will take to the court to battle France’s Women’s Basketball players. This event will begin at 4:55 a.m. Eastern standard time and 3:55 a.m. Central Standart Time.

Both the women’s and men’s Tokyo Olympics swimming competitions are scheduled to take place over the first weekend of the Olympic events. The teams will compete in a variety of heats during the first day of competition. The swimmers will go head to head in butterfly heats, freestyle heats, freestyle relay heats, and breaststroke heats.

Finally Ready to Go

These long-awaited Tokyo Olympics events are welcome around the world after the Olympic Committee made the decision to postpone the 2020 Tokyo Olympic games until 2021 due to COVID19 concerns.

In March 2020, the International Olympic Committee agreed to postpone the Tokyo Olympics Games until 2021 due to concerns over Covid-19. The event was originally set to begin on July 24, 2020 and end on Aug. 9, 2020.

Outsider.com