Daytona 500: NASCAR Announces Return Time After Long Delay

by Evan Reier

Mere minutes after a massive 16-car crash, the Daytona 500 red flag went up as a severe storm rolled into town.

At 3:35 p.m. local time, NASCAR officials called for a delay, as a lighting strike happened within range of Daytona International Speedway. Typically, a delay is going to be the No. 1 topic of discussion when they happen.

However, the massive crash that took out drivers like Martin Truex Jr., Ryan Newman and Aric Almirola had happened just prior. While the crash was large in volume, it was a far cry from Newman’s devastating car crash in last year’s race that forced him to the hospital.

Now, NASCAR has officially announced when the race will get back underway. To the chagrin of almost everyone it took nearly the entire afternoon and change to find a dry window, but NASCAR says they have it and are planning on getting things back underway.

And so, the Daytona 500 will take place at 9 p.m. ET.

List of Drivers Involved in Daytona 500 Crash

There were a grand total of 16 cars involved in the crash. Here’s who was involved:

  • No. 1 Kurt Busch
  • No. 6 Ryan Newman
  • No. 8 Tyler Reddick
  • No. 10 Aric Almirola
  • No. 12 Ryan Blaney
  • No. 17 Chris Buescher
  • No. 19 Martin Truex Jr.
  • No. 20 Christopher Bell
  • No. 21 Matt DiBenedetto
  • No. 24 William Byron
  • No. 36 David Ragan
  • No. 38 Anthony Alfredo
  • No. 43 Erik Jones
  • No. 48 Alex Bowman
  • No. 77 Jamie McMurray
  • No. 99 Daniel Suarez

While it remains to be seen who suffered minimal enough damage to return, many vehicles looked down for the count.

The wreck happened after Kyle Busch nudged his teammate Christopher Bell from behind. This forced Bell a bit forward, touching Aric Almirola with more force than he was likely hoping for. Almirola then slid towards the wall, colliding with Alex Bowman.

The pair then hit the wall, before falling back into the lower side of the track, forcing several drivers off the track or into each other.