HomeSportsNASCAR: Everything to Know About the 2021 All-Star Race

NASCAR: Everything to Know About the 2021 All-Star Race

by Josh Lanier
(Photo by Dannie Walls/Icon Sportswire/Corbis/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

Some of the top drivers in NASCAR will face off today at Texas Motor Speedway for a winner-take-all $1 million cash prize. The All-Star Race has become one of the most anticipated race events of the year as drivers and their teams push themselves for that massive check.

The fastest pit crew also gets a chance at $100,000.

The green flag drops on the NASCAR All-Star Open starts at 6 p.m. The Open will decide the final four of 21 drivers who will advance to the All-Star Race at 8 p.m. EST. Though, a fan vote will select the 21st place driver.

Fox and FS1 will broadcast the NASCAR events.

The All-Star Race’s rules are complex at best and convoluted at worst. The All-Star race consists of six rounds.

The first four are 15 laps each, with the starting lineup determined via a random draw, according to NASCAR. The first is inverted after that first round, and the inverted a second time. The field will be set again via random draw to set the order for Round 4.

Round 5 will be 30 laps, with the drivers’ performances in the earlier stages determining the starting order. All cars must enter pit road for a mandatory four-tire pit stop during Round 5. The fastest pit crew will win $100,000.

The final round will be a 10-lap shootout with the starting position determined their Round 5 finishes.

Hamlin Calls Out NASCAR Over Starting Spot

NASCAR chose the starting locations by random draw, and not by points. Something that Denny Hamlin, the points leader, isn’t happy about. He vented on Twitter after NASCAR announced he would start 16th, near the back of the pack.

Hamlin was responding to a NASCAR joke account that tweeted a caption of Hamlin saying “How did we _____ this up.”

But NASCAR and its fans love the event. It’s one of the biggest draws every season because of the purse and hard-nosed driving.

“Drivers and pit crews better pack their lunch pails because they are going to have to work extremely hard to earn the honor of celebrating in Victory Lane,” said Texas Motor Speedway president and GM Eddie Gossage, who also plans an old-timey, wild West motif for pre-race ceremonies. “This is a full metal rodeo for a big ol’ bag of dough.”

Kyle Larson, who has won the past two races, is favored to win the million dollars, according to BetMGM odds. He’s at +300 odds, Martin Truex Jr. (+700), Chase Elliott (+700), and Kyle Busch (+800) follow.

The starting order for the NASCAR All-Star Race is as follows. Four other drivers will be added after the All-Star Open is over.

1Kyle Larson5
2Kyle Busch18
3Christopher Bell20
4Cole Custer41
5Austin Dillon3
6Chase Elliott9
7Joey Logano22
8William Byron24
9Brad Keselowski2
10Martin Truex Jr.19
11Michael McDowell34
12Kevin Harvick4
13Kurt Busch1
14Ryan Newman6
15Alex Bowman48
16Denny Hamlin11
17Ryan Blaney12